Научные исследования


The aims of the Science and Research Standing Committee are to:

  • be the scientific policy-maker for IHS
  • promote and facilitate basic and applied research in the study of headache, with emphasis on pathophysiology and treatment, enquiring into what research is being done and setting out opinion on what ought to be done
  • encourage and sponsor the training of young investigators through fellowship programmes
  • advise the scientific programme committees of each International Headache Congress
  • support national and regional headache societies in the development of guidelines.

Наши члены


Hans-Christoph Diener

Hans-Christoph Diener

Institute for Medical Informatics, Biometry and Epidemiology, Medical Faculty of the University Duisburg-Essen, Essen


Read Profile
Shuu-Jiun Wang

Shuu-Jiun Wang

The Neurological Institute, Taipei Veterans General Hospital


Read Profile


  • Werner Becker
  • Rami Burstein
  • Andrew Charles
  • Tobias Kurth
  • Arne May
  • Frank Porreca
  • Patricia Pozo-Rosich
  • Anan Srikiatkhachorn
  • Gisela Terwindt
  • Arn van den Maagdenberg

Мероприятия и новости

The Science and Research Committee, in conjunction with the Education Committee, offers international fellowships.

IHS Clinical and Basic Science Headache Research Fellowship Awards

The IHS Fellowship Award is a 1-year fellowship award which aims to support innovative and impactful research from young investigators, promote the career of young investigators in the field of headache, and increase the knowledge base of headache disorders.

For details of current Fellowship opportunities see the Grants and Awards page.

Reports from past Fellows can be found below.

Past Fellows

  • 2016 – Doga Vuralli, Turkey
    Fellowship mentor: Cenk Ayata
    Institution: Neurovascular Research Laboratory, Harvard Medical School-Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, USA
    Research title: Sulfotransferase inhibitors in the pathophysiology of migraine
    Presentation: IHC 2019
    Doga now works at Gazi University, Department of Neurology and Algology, in Ankara, Turkey, as a neurologist and headache/pain medicine specialist. She is involved in translational migraine research and neurophysiological studies focusing particularly on dysfunctional sensory processing in migraine.
  • 2015 – Kristian Haanes, Denmark
    Fellowship mentor: Antoinette Maassen van den Brink
    Institution: Erasmus Medical Center, Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Research title: Purinergic receptor exploration in migraine – eliminating the disadvantages of yesterday’s drugs (PUREMEDY)
    Presentation: IHC 2017
  • 2014 – Marta Vila, Spain
    Fellowship mentor: Peter Goadsby and Philip Holland
    Institution: King’s College London, London, UK
    Research title: Brainstem modulation in the pathophysiology of migraine
    Presentation: IHC 2017
    Marta is a now a neuroscientist currently working as a senior postdoctoral researcher at King’s College London with Dr Holland, Dr Hoffmann and Prof Goadsby. Her work is focused on studying the pathophysiology of primary headaches in preclinical models of migraine and TACs. She is also a member of the Junior Editorial Board of The Journal of Headache and Pain and is an active member of several scientific societies, such as IHS and IASP
    2013 – Kıvılcım Kılıç, Turkey
    Fellowship mentor: Anna Devor
    Institution: University of California San Diego, San Diego, USA
    Research title: Two-photon imaging of cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying cortical spreading depolarization (CSD) induced vascular responses in vivo
    Presentation: IHC 2015
  • 2012 – Laine Green, Canada
    Fellowship mentor: Frank Porreca and David Dodick
    Institution: Department of Pharmacology, University of Arizona, Tucson and Mayo Clinic, Phoenix, USA
    Research title: Susceptibility to cortical spreading depression in an animal model of triptan medication overuse headache
    Post fellowship Laine was at Dalhousie University  in Halifax Nova Scotia.  In November 2019 he moved the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center/Dartmouth College and is a staff physician in the Department of Neurology and Assistant Professor Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, predominantly practicing headache medicine
  • 2012 – Thijs Houben, Netherlands
    Fellowship mentor: Cenk Ayata
    Institution: Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Charlestown, USA
    Research title: Visual evoked responses in migraine mutant mice as a monitoring tool of the excitability state of the migraine brain
    Presentation: IHC 2015
  • 2012 – Homa Sadeghian
    Fellowship mentor: Cenk Ayata
    Institution: Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Charlestown, USA
    Research title: Cortical spreading depression and blood brain barrier
    Presentation: IHC 2015
  • 2011 – Volodymyr Bogdanov
    Fellowship mentor: K C Brennan
    Institution: University of Utah, Salt Lake City, USA
    Research title: Toward a naturalistic model of migraine aura
    Presentation: IHC 2013
    Volodymyr’s fellowship research shed light on the mechanisms of differential predisposition of cerebral cortex to cortical spreading depression and yielded a number of publications, including a paper in the Journal of Neuroscience. He now works in France in the domain of psychophysiology of audiovisual perception, and is doing research on multidisciplinary human neuroscience and plans further studies of enigmatic migraine aura
  • 2011 – Jakob Møller Hansen
    Fellowship mentor: Andrew Charles
    Institution: David Geffen School of Medicine, University of Los Angeles (UCLA), USA
    Research title: Imaging migraine mechanisms – from cells to humans
    Presentation: IHC 2013

Ежегодные отчеты