

IHS Visiting Professors

Guidelines / History

Overview

Visiting Professors is an initiative of the IHS Education committee with the aim to send headache specialists as representatives of IHS to attend regional meetings, or teach at a headache centre, in countries that might need or want increased headache education and motivation and where, without financial support, attendance of an international specialist would not be possible.

Meetings/Congresses

IHS will fund two headache specialists to teach at a national or regional meeting/congress. The host country can select topics and <u>suggest</u> at least three specialists who will fit in with their programme. The engagement should comprise at least two lectures and one course/workshop by each specialist. The final decision on the choice of specialists will be made by the IHS Education Committee.

Request requirements

Proposals should be submitted using the application form by any local/regional/national institution or scientific society with an interest in headache. The proposal should include:

- 1) proposed meeting/centre name
- 2) proposed dates
- 3) details of the programme (please attach preliminary programme including proposed faculty)
- 4) estimate of how many delegates will attend
- 5) any specific topic on which the experts are asked to present.

Proposals should be received preferably 3 months in advance of the proposed event.

Each country can apply for a Visiting Professors twice in a 5-year period.

The Visiting Professor

The Visiting Professors should be of appropriate academic standing in his/her home country. IHS will try to fund at least two Visiting Professors per year. An individual can be appointed as Visiting Professor only once every other year, unless there is no suitable candidate. The maximum is two (2) times per year.

Funding

The value of the funding is US\$ 6,000, and should be used to cover the following expenses :

- economy airfare
- transfers
- accommodation
- food and beverage expenses
- other meeting costs

IHS does not pay honoraria to speakers, and the budget proposal should not include an honorarium for the Visiting Professors. The hosting institution is free to pay an honorarium if they wish.

Payment will be made after the event on receipt of the relevant receipts and report; original receipts must be sent to the IHS office. Pre-event funding is possible if needed – please discuss with IHS.

Application review process

The IHS Education committee will review the application and make a final decision.

Applications will be handled on a first-come first-served basis.

After approval

All liaison with the Visiting Professors will be done by the host country.

Reporting

To evaluate the value of the event, the hosting institution is required to ask all participants to complete a short questionnaire to determine their knowledge base on the subjects being presented, before the meeting, and follow this with a second post-meeting questionnaire to determine whether the event has changed the participant's level of knowledge and current practice. This questionnaire could be designed to ask at least one question on every presentation and possibly two questions on group, interactive or case based sessions. Also participants should have an opportunity to assess the venue and the speakers, and provide comments on the programme as to what was good or not, and suggestions for future programmes.

The hosting institution is also required to submit a report after the event to the IHS office within 3 months after the event. This report will be published on the IHS website and in the IHS newsletter.

History of the Visiting Professor programme

Year	Location	Visiting Professor
2012	Chile	Alan Rapoport
2012	Colombia	Alan Rapoport
2012	Morocco	Francoise Radat
2013	Dominican Republic	Carlos Bordini and Alan Rapoport
2013	India	Stewart Tepper
2013	Argentina	Alan Rapoport
2014	Serbia	Cristina Tassorelli
2014	Dakar-Senegal	Jean Schoenen
2014	Estonia	Peter Goadsby
2014	Brazil	Vincenzo Guidetti and Jes Olesen
2015	Bulgaria	Nina Latysheva and Alan Rapoport
2015	Morocco	Gianluca Coppola
2015	Azerbaijan	Hayrunnisa Bolay and Messoud Ashina
2015	Estonia	Alan Rapoport and Arne May
2015	Iran	Hayrunnisa Bolay and Robert Cowan
2015	Moldova	Rigmor Jensen and Cristina Tassorelli
2016	Sri Lanka	Rigmor Jensen and Anand Diwan
2016	Brazil	Alan Rapoport and Vincenzo Guidetti
2016	Bangladesh	Tissa Wijeratne
2017	Russia	Messoud Ashina and Zaza Katsarava
2017	Iran	Lars Edvinsson and Jes Olesen
2017	Pakistan	Messoud Ashina and Peter Goadsby

Company limited by guarantee, registered in England no. 2988368 Registered Charity no. 1042574

2018	Colombia	Julio Pascual, Patricia Pozo Rosich and Brian Grosberg
2018	Lithuania	Jean Schoenen and Rigmor Jensen
2019	Nepal	Timothy Steiner and Derya Uludüz
2019	Iran	Jes Olesen and Hossein Ansari
2019	Philippines	Anne MacGregor and Alan Rapoport
2019	Kygryz Republic	Sait Ashina and Vera Ossipova
2020	Bangladesh	Tissa Wijeratne
2020	Mexico	Carlos Bordini and Julio Pascual

Company limited by guarantee, registered in England no. 2988368 Registered Charity no. 1042574