

Editor-in-Chief Simona Sacco

Managing Editor Wendy Krank

Deputy Editor Marcelo Valença

#### Associate Editors

Frank Andrasik Sait Ashina Rafael Benoliel Rami Burstein Gianluca Coppola Hans-Christoph Diener Anne Ducros Stefan Evers Larus S. Gudmundsson Andrew Hershey Philip R. Holland Mi Ji Lee Karl Messlinger Teshamae S. Monteith Kuan-Po Peng Patricia Pozo-Rosich Todd Schwedt Henrik Winther Schvtz Cristina Tassorelli Erling A. Tronvik Marcelo Valença Shuu-Jiun Wang Alessandro S. Zagami

Biostatistics Editor James S. McGinley

Graphical Abstracts Editors Davd Gracia-Arizon

Cédric Gollion

#### Junior Editors

Faisal Mohammad Amin Edoardo Caronna Catherine D. Chong Roberto De Icco Daniel Noam Lax Francesca Puledda Marta Vila-Pueyo

Social Media Editors

Faraidoon Haghdoost Nina Riggins

Publishing & Scientific Integrity Advisor Peter J. Goadsby

Historical Section Editor Peter J. Koehler

Ombudsman David W. Dodick

# CEPHALALGIA ANNOUNCES THE JES OLESEN AWARDS FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF HEADACHE MEDICINE: CALL FOR PAPERS

*Cephalalgia* is the official journal of the International Headache Society. The journal is an online Gold open-access journal, and contains original papers on all aspects of headache.

The aim and mission of the journal is to provide practical timely relevant clinical and basic science information in the field of headache medicine to physicians and researchers globally.

Cephalalgia is pleased to announce the establishment of the Jes Olesen Awards, recognizing outstanding contributions in headache medicine across both clinical and basic sciences.

The awards will be granted annually to the best original research papers submitted under this dedicated call.

#### Award Categories

 Jes Olesen Basic Science Award for the Advancement of Headache Medicine
 Jes Olesen Clinical Science Award for the Advancement of Headache Medicine

Each award includes a  $\notin 10,000$  prize, public recognition on Cephalalgia and International Headache Society platforms, and an opportunity to present your work at a major scientific meeting.

This is an exceptional chance to highlight your research and contribute to the advancement of global understanding and management of headache disorders.

## Eligibility

- Only original research papers are eligible for submission.
- The awards will be granted to the first author of the winning paper.

- Each participant may submit only one manuscript for consideration in this open call.

## Guidelines for Applicants

The submission period opens on October 1, 2024, and closes on February 28, 2025. Papers submitted outside these dates will not be eligible for the awards.
Manuscripts must be prepared according to the Author Guidelines for Cephalalgia (https://journals.sagepub.com/author-instructions/CEP).
Authors must specify in the cover letter whether their submission is for the Basic Science or Clinical Science Award.

# Award Process

Submitted manuscripts will undergo the standard peer review process, and only papers accepted for publication will be considered for the awards.
A panel of experts will evaluate eligible papers and select the final awardees.



## Award Presentation

The winners will be invited to present their contributions at the **22nd Bi-ennial International Headache Congress in São Paulo, Brazil (10-13 September 2025)**. The International Headache Society will provide award recipients with benefits typically extended to invited speakers, including conference registration, travel, and accommodation.

#### Funding

The Jes Olesen Awards have been generously funded by **Professor Jes Olesen through JO Health**, with the aim of promoting excellence in headache research.

For inquiries regarding the submission process, please contact: editorial.cephalalgia@gmail.com

Editor-in-Chief Simona Sacco

Alessandro S. Zagami Biostatistics Editor

Editor-in-Chief Simona Sacco

Managing Editor

Wendy Krank

Deputy Editor Marcelo Valença

Associate Editors Frank Andrasik

Sait Ashina

Rafael Benoliel Rami Burstein

Gianluca Coppola

Philip R. Holland Mi Ji Lee Karl Messlinger Teshamae S. Monteith Kuan-Po Peng Patricia Pozo-Rosich

Todd Schwedt

Henrik Winther Schytz Cristina Tassorelli Erling A. Tronvik Marcelo Valença Shuu-liun Wang

Hans-Christoph Diener Anne Ducros Stefan Evers

Larus S. Gudmundsson Andrew Hershey

James S. McGinley

**Graphical Abstracts Editors** 

Davd Gracia-Arizon Cédric Gollion

#### Junior Editors

Faisal Mohammad Amin Edoardo Caronna Catherine D. Chong Roberto De Icco Daniel Noam Lax Francesca Puledda Marta Vila-Pueyo

Social Media Editors Faraidoon Haghdoost Nina Riggins

Publishing & Scientific Integrity Advisor Peter J. Goadsby

Historical Section Editor Peter J. Koehler

Ombudsman David W. Dodick