The Chairman of the Committee is the Editor-in-Chief of Cephalalgia and Cephalalgia Reports who has overall responsibility for the content and smooth publication of the journals. The Editor-in-Chief appoints Associate Editors as required, ensuring worldwide representation, gender diversity and representatives for each topic in headache medicine, including bio-statisticians.

The aims of the Cephalalgia Editorial Standing Committee are to:

  • ensure the journals’ content reflects recent advances in headache research
  • work to raise and retain the reputation of the journals amongst other neurological publications
  • ensure the submission and peer-review process is fair
  • ensure content is free from industry influence/bias
  • liaise with the publisher and the IHS administration team to actively promote the journals
  • liaise with the publisher to keep the journals up to date with technological advances
  • evaluate how the content can be best disseminated and made accessible in countries where English is not the first language.


Simona Sacco

Simona Sacco


Read Profile

Associate Editors:

  • Frank Andrasik (USA)
  • Sait Ashina (USADenmark)
  • Rafael Benoliel (Israel)
  • Rami Burstein (USA)
  • Gianluca Coppola (Italy)
  • Hans-Christoph Diener (Germany)
  • Anne Ducros (France)
  • Stefan Evers (Germany)
  • Larus S Gudmundsson (Norway)
  • Andrew Hershey (USA)
  • Jan Hoffmann (UK)
  • Phillip R Holland (UK)
  • Mi Ji Lee (South Korea)
  • Karl Messlinger (Germany)
  • Teshamae Monteith (USA)
  • Kuan-Po Peng (Germany)
  • Patricia Pozo Rosich (Spain)
  • Todd Schwedt (USA)
  • Henrik Schytz (Denmark)
  • Cristina Tassorelli (Italy)
  • Erling Tronvik (Norway)
  • Marcelo Valença (Brazil)
  • Shuu-Jiun Wang (Taiwan)
  • Alessandro Zagami (Australia)

Deputy Associate Editor: Arne May (Germany)

Managing Editor: Wendy Krank

Biostatistics Editor: James S McGinley

Historical Section Editor: Peter J Koehler

Junior Editors:

  • Faisal Mohammad Amin (Denmark)
  • Edoardo Caronna (Spain)
  • Catherine D Chong (USA)
  • Roberto de Icco (Italy)
  • Daniel Noam Lax (USA)
  • Francesca Puledda (UK)
  • Marta Vila-Pueyo (Spain)

Social Media Editors
Faraidoon Haghdoost (Australia)
Nina Riggins (USA)

Publishing & Scientific Integrity Advisor: Peter J Goadsby

Ombudsman: David W Dodick

Activities and news

Cephalalgia is the official journal of the International Headache Society.

Published since 1981, in 2023 Cephalalgia became an online Gold open-access journal , and contains original papers on all aspects of headache. The journal provides an international forum for original research papers, review articles and short communications.

For further information on Cephalalgia visit the website.