Cephalalgia is the official journal of the International Headache Society. The journal is an online Gold open-access journal , and contains original papers on all aspects of headache. The journal provides an international forum for original research papers, review articles and short communications.

Readers receive timely cutting edge original articles, editorials, reviews, letters and clinical correspondence on both clinical and basic research. Subscribers also receive themed Supplements and news on events within the headache community.

Under the journal’s expert editorship, its future and continued excellence are assured in a time of difficulty for many specialist journals.

IHS members enjoy direct access to the full back catalogue of Cephalalgia via the Members section. As an additional member benefit, all IHS members can access the online version of The Neuroscientist, which publishes state of the art reviews to keep you up to date on the advances emerging in the neurosciences and related disciplines.


Simona Sacco

Simona Sacco


Read Profile

Previous Editors of the Journal
Arne May
David Dodick
Peter J Goadsby
K Michael Welch
Marcia Wilkinson
Ottar Sjaastad (Founding Editor)

Associate Editors
Frank Andrasik (USA)
Sait Ashina (USA)
Rafael Benoliel (Israel)
Rami Burstein (USA)
Gianluca Coppola (Italy)
Hans-Christoph Diener (Germany)
Anne Ducros (France)
Stefan Evers (Germany)
Larus S Gudmundsson (Norway) (Iceland)
Andrew Hershey (USA)
Jan Hoffmann (UK)
Phillip R Holland (UK)
Mi Ji Lee (South Korea)
Karl Messlinger (Germany)
Teshamae S Monteith (USA)
Kuan-Po Peng (Germany)
Patricia Pozo Rosich (Spain)
Todd Schwedt (USA)
Henrik Winther Schytz (Denmark)
Cristina Tassorelli (Italy)
Erling A Tronvik (Norway)
Marcelo Valença (Brazil)
Shuu-Jiun Wang (Taiwan)
Alessandro Zagami (Australia)

Deputy Associate Editor
Arne May (Germany)

Biostatistics Editor
James S McGinley

Historical Section Editor
Peter J Koehler

Junior Editors
Faisal Mohammad Amin (Denmark)
Edoardo Caronna (Spain)
Catherine D Chong (USA)
Roberto De Icco (Italy)
Daniel Noam Lax (USA)
Francesca Puledda (UK)
Marta Vila-Pueyo (Spain)

Social Media Editors
Faraidoon Haghdoost (Australia)
Nina Riggins (USA)

Publishing & Scientific Integrity Advisor
Peter J Goadsby

David W Dodick

Editorial Office
Wendy Krank
Managing Editor
Cephalalgia Editorial Office
Phoenix, AZ
Email Editorial Office

Visit the Cephalalgia website

Find out how to submit your paper to Cephalalgia

Sage Publications Ltd
Email the Publisher

This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Cephalalgia Award Lecture

The Cephalalgia award lecture is awarded bi-ennially to the best paper published in Cephalalgia in the previous 2 years. The paper is presented in a special session during the IHS International Headache Congress.

Cephalalgia Award Lecture winners